Grand Canyon

Jeez! I never knew the Grand Canyon was so large… I also never understood how it was made… but I guess I know both now so it’s quite fine!
The Grand Canyon is a steep canyon by the Colorado River in the United States. It is located in Arizona and it is 227 miles long and 18 miles wide! Amazing. It’s almost as tall and wide as Shaq!
Something that fascinates me about the Grand Canyon is the animals that live in it. I didn’t know that so many animals could live in a place so hot and deadly, but listen to all the animals that do live there! They have big horn sheep, mule deer, mountain lions, bobcats and coyote, squirrels, ringtails. They have Bald and Golden Eagles, they also have some hawks, like the Red-tailed Hawk, Jays of all types, and Turkeys. The bird that you see the most though is the Raven. They also have short-horned lizard, toads, salamanders, tadpoles and snakes!
Another thing that fascinates me about the Grand Canyon is it was made from a lake and it was made much more recently than scientists thought it was. It was made only 5.5 million years ago when scientists thought it was made billions of years before that. 5.5 million years ago a lake next to the Grand Canyon overflowed and over time cut down the land and formed the canyon. 

One more AMAZING thing is that the Grand Canyon used to be… wait for it… UNDERWATER!!!!!!!! Say wha??? Yeah you heard right! Underwater! It’s been underwater 8 times within the last 5.5 million years! I found that very fascinating and scientists know this because they found sea fossil in the rock! The layers in the rock tell a story and scientists can tell from examining the wall rock exactly what the canyon has been through and when.

One day I want to go there – even if it happens a long time in the future. I heard they even built a skywalk for it with a glass floor! Talk about scary! But I know I’ll be brave enough to step out onto it. Cos that’s the way I roll.

About masterxela

I am a 14 year old boy that is forced to do a blog. I don't like work. I'm supposed to be having fun. This is my childhood! Ohh... Parents stink. :P
This entry was posted in History, Science, World and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

