Library of Congress

I went to Washington D.C. when I was little but I never went to the Library of Congress because one, I couldn’t read, and two I didn’t know as much as I do now about the Library of Congress. Now I know that it’s the research library of the whole United States Congress and it IS open to the public! But only certain parts. It is located in three different buildings in D.C. and it is the largest library in the world in reference to how many shelves and books it has. There are 142 millions books currently in the Libarary of Congress!! That’s amazing! This library really amazed me! It’s so big, but it doesn’t have just books! It has films, soundtracks, pictures and more! It also has an amazing system too! All you have to do is go to the front and request what you want and it will come down on a track! This library has books that all the early presidents wrote! It has writings and notes and letters from George Washington, Abraham Lincoln, Teddy Roosevelt, you name it they’ve got it!

The library was started when Thomas Jefferson offered to sell his collection of books to Congress as a replacement for the collection destroyed by the British during the War of 1812. Jefferson had collected a huge amount of books over his lifetime that he was very proud of. It was the largest personal collection of books in the United States. Congress purchased Jefferson’s library for $23,950 in 1815, however a fire on Christmas Eve of 1851 destroyed nearly two thirds of the 6,487 volumes Congress had purchased from Jefferson.

This library really amazed me with the detail and the system they had inside. When I went to Washinginton DC I visited the Smithsonian but now I wish I’d gone to see the Library of Congress. Now that I know what a magnificent building the library is, I really regret not getting a first hand view. 

About masterxela

I am a 14 year old boy that is forced to do a blog. I don't like work. I'm supposed to be having fun. This is my childhood! Ohh... Parents stink. :P
This entry was posted in U.S. History and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Library of Congress

  1. eric says:

    Masterxela,
    I went to the Library of Congress not because I can read but becouse I really like architecture! In fact I only read things about architecture and history for enjoyment on occasion… (I do read Harorld and the Purple Crayon or some other childrens book now and then to my kids =).

    I noticed you said your parents had you write a blog over summer vacation – I do hope you eventually enjoyed it… Perhaps you impressed your parents enough that they will take you to DC so you can see the Library of Congress sometime soon?

    Thanks for the post and images,
    Eric

  2. Aaron Brown says:

    Thanks for your blog. I like the ceiling image of the LOC’s Reading Room. I did an internship with the Foreign Service through the Department of State for 10 weeks. I had the opportunity to go to the Library of Congress. It is great!

  3. Abby says:

    first let me thank u for the info u’ve shared… im an architecture student.. n these pics are really in good angles tht i jst wntd to thnk u 4 thm… i lov eth library of congress coz i love books n due to its extraordinry architcture… take care…

Leave a Reply

