The Sun

A burning bright ball of gas up in the sky. What keeps our planet going. Without it, we wouldn’t even exist. If you didn’t know what I was talking about, it’s the sun! If you haven’t guessed I watched a show on the sun today. It wasn’t very interesting but since I like astronomy it kinda hooked me in. It talked about how we learned about the sun since we can’t go to it and explore it. And if you’re stupid and don’t know what the sun is, IT’S  JUST THE BIG GIANT THING IN THE SKY THAT LIGHTS UP THE WHOLE DARN PLANET! 🙂

Some simple facts about the sun are: The Sun is the star at the center of the Solar System. It has a diameter of about 865,000 miles. An interesting fact I found out is that its mass counts for about 99.86% of the total mass of the Solar System! The whole freaking solar system! About three quarters of the Sun’s mass consists of hydrogen, while the rest is mostly helium. The other 2% is of heavier elements like iron, oxygen and carbon. I also learned the Sun’s color is white, but from Earth it appears yellow. 

This T.V. show amazed me at what we could do in the year 1908! An astronomer found out that the sun had magnetic plates and fields which was very big back then and he had to be pretty smart and amazing since he couldn’t go to there to find that out!

O.K… so the show was a little boring but at least I learned a lot! By watching this show it taught me more about my favorite section of science, astronomy. This inspired me more to be a scientist and an astronomer and I will fulfill my dreams to the stars and beyond!

About masterxela

I am a 14 year old boy that is forced to do a blog. I don't like work. I'm supposed to be having fun. This is my childhood! Ohh... Parents stink. :P
This entry was posted in Science and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

